Jennie Award Information

The Jennie Award, named in honor of Jennie Cross, may be presented to a member of the Michigan documents community in recognition of current outstanding achievement or special service. This award may be given annually.

Nominations must include or be followed by a written letter of support. This letter should include name, address of the nominee, present place of employment, description of achievements or special service by the nominee, and the nominating source.

Nominations and the accompanying materials for the Jennie Award should be submitted to the Director-at-Large of GODORT of Michigan by February 28 of the calendar year the award would be made. If a person is selected to receive the award, it is presented at the spring GODORT of Michigan meeting.

The language on the large Jennie Award Bowl reads, Jennie Award presented to a GODORT member for outstanding service to the documents community, followed by the recipients name and year given. After holding the bowl for a year, the bowl will be replaced by a smaller bowl for permanent retention.

Previous recipients include:

  • Jennie Cross (1980)
  • Paul Thurston (1983)
  • Francis Buckley, Jr. (1985)
  • Anne Diamond (1987)
  • Barbara Hulyk (1990)
  • Jon Harrison (1995)
  • Paula Kaczmarek and Anne Marie Sanders (2003)
  • Diane VanderPol (2009)
  • Charley Pelkey (2010)
  • Ann Birkam (2011)
  • Bruce Sargeant (2012)